1940-41 NHL Standings

1940-41 NHL Regular Season Standings

Team GP W L T Pts GF GA
Boston Bruins 48 27 8 13 67 168 102
Toronto Maple Leafs 48 28 14 6 62 145 99
Detroit Red Wings 48 21 16 11 53 112 102
New York Rangers 48 21 19 8 50 143 125
Chicago Blackhawks 48 16 25 7 39 112 139
Montreal Canadiens 48 16 26 6 38 121 147
New York Americans 48 8 29 11 27 99 186

1940-41 National Hockey League Season

johnny quilty montreal canadiens 1940-41 o-pee-chee v301-2 hockey cardThe Boston Bruins dominated the 1940-41 National Hockey League season, finishing first overall during the regular season before capturing the Stanley Cup championship. Boston swept the Detroit Red Wings in the finals. It would be the last time the Bruins would win the title until the 1969-70 season.

That Boston team was coached by Ralph ‘Cooney’ Weiland. Cooney last played for the Bruins in 1938-39 and it would be the last of two seasons coaching in the NHL. Back in 1929-30, Weiland scored an amazing 43 goals in 44 games. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1971.

Bill Cowley of the Bruins led the NHL in scoring with 62 points in 46 games. That put him a healthy 18 points ahead of a five player logjam for second that included Bryan Hextall and Lynn Patrick from the Rangers, Gordie Drillon and Syl Apps from the Maple Leafs, along with Syd Howe of the Red Wings. It was Bryan Hextall that led the National Hockey League in goal scoring with 26.

Cowley only played two of Boston’s eleven games in the playoffs. He was awarded the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player.

The Calder Trophy went to Johnny Quilty of the Montreal Canadiens. Quilty would play just the 1940-41 and 1941-42 full seasons in the NHL before joining the military effort in World War II. Following the war, Quilty would appear in just 29 more games in his NHL career with the Canadiens and Bruins for a total of 125.

The New York Americans and Detroit Red Wings were left out of the All-Star Team selections. This, in spite of the fact that Detroit finished third overall and reached the Stanley Cup finals.

Four Hockey Hall of Fame members made their debuts in 1940-41. This includes Max Bentley, Elmer Lach, Ken Reardon and Chuck Rayner. Hooley Smith and Charlie Conacher were the only two Hall of Famers to play their National Hockey League finale.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *