1966-67 NHL Standings

1966-67 NHL Regular Season Standings

Team GP W L T Pts GF GA
Chicago Blackhawks 70 41 17 12 94 264 170
Montreal Canadiens 70 32 25 13 77 202 188
Toronto Maple Leafs 70 32 27 11 75 204 211
New York Rangers 70 30 28 12 72 188 189
Detroit Red Wings 70 27 39 4 58 212 241
Boston Bruins 70 17 43 10 44 182 253

1966-67 National Hockey League Season

bobby orr boston bruins 1966-67 topps rookie hockey cardIt was the last year of the Original 6 era. It was the last year of the 70 game schedule. It was the last year the Toronto Maple Leafs won the Stanley Cup. The 1966-67 National Hockey League season was certainly unique.

1966-67 ushered in a new era. Bobby Orr played his first NHL season for the Boston Bruins. Orr would truly change the game. In his rookie season, he was awarded the Calder Trophy as the top first year player. Orr scored 13 and assisted on 28 for 41 points while playing 61 of Boston’s 70 games. The numbers were incredible for a rookie defenseman. The hockey world had no idea what Bobby would do over the next eight years.

The Chicago Blackhawks dominated the regular season, finishing 17 points ahead of the second place Montreal Canadiens. It was the first time Chicago had finished in first place overall since joining the NHL some 50 years before in 1926-27.

Five Chicago players were among the league’s top ten scorers. Glenn Hall and Denis Dejordy shared the Vezina. Four of six NHL First Team All-Stars came from the Blackhawks. Stan Mikita won his first of two consecutive triple crowns, taking home the Art Ross Trophy, Hart Trophy and Lady Byng Trophy.

Yet, when it came to the Stanley Cup playoffs, Chicago was upset by the Toronto Maple Leafs in the opening round. Toronto went on to win the Stanley Cup championship with a win over the Canadiens in the finals. Dave Keon was named Conn Smythe Trophy winner, contributing eight points in 12 post season games.

Harry Howell of the New York Rangers won the Norris Trophy as the league’s top defenseman. This was significant as Howell was the last to win the award before Bobby Orr went on his eight year reign. It would be 1975-76 before another player would win, that being Denis Potvin of the New York Islanders.

Hall and Dejordy may have shared the Vezina Trophy but Eddie Giacomin of the New York Rangers put in the best individual goaltending performance. Giacomin played in 68 of the team’s 70 games, posting a 2.61 goals against average and leading the league with nine shutouts. Backing him up from time to time was Cesare Maniago, appearing in six games.

Three future Hockey Hall of Fame members made their debuts in 1966-67. Of course, Bobby Orr was one of them. Serge Savard and Rogatien Vachon played their first games with the Montreal Canadiens. Red Kelly was the only Hockey Hall of Famer to play his final NHL game in 1966-67.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *