1967-68 NHL Standings

Final Standings

Team GP W L T Pts GF GA
Montreal Canadiens 74 42 22 10 94 236 167
New York Rangers 74 39 23 12 90 226 183
Boston Bruins 74 37 27 10 84 259 216
Chicago Blackhawks 74 32 26 16 80 212 222
Toronto Maple Leafs 74 33 31 10 76 209 176
Detroit Red Wings 74 27 35 12 66 245 257
Philadelphia Flyers 74 31 32 11 73 173 179
Los Angeles Kings 74 31 33 10 72 200 224
St. Louis Blues 74 27 31 16 70 177 191
Minnesota North Stars 74 27 32 15 69 191 226
Pittsburgh Penguins 74 27 34 13 67 195 216
Oakland Seals 74 15 42 17 47 153 219

1967-68 National Hockey League Season

stan mikita chicago blackhawks 1967-68 topps hockey card1967-68 was the 51st season of the National Hockey League and the first time since 1941-42 that the league had more than six teams. 1941-42 was the last year of the New York Americans. 1967-68 saw the NHL expand to 12 teams with the addition of the Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Los Angeles Kings, St. Louis Blues, Oakland Seals and Minnesota North Stars.

The Montreal Canadiens led the league during the regular season with 94 points, four more than the New York Rangers. Montreal then went 12-1 in the playoffs to capture the Stanley Cup championship. The Habs swept the Boston Bruins in the quarter-finals before losing a single game to the Chicago Blackhawks in the semi-finals. In the finals, the Canadiens swept the expansion St. Louis Blues in four games.

Stan Mikita of the Chicago Blackhawks finished up his second consecutive triple crown season. His 87 points on 40 goals and 47 assists led the league, three points ahead of Phil Esposito of the Bruins and five more than Gordie Howe of the Red Wings, earning the Art Ross Trophy. He was also awarded the Hart Trophy as most valuable player and Lady Byng Trophy as the most sportsmanlike.

The Calder Memorial Trophy went to Derek Sanderson of the Bruins. Sanderson finished his rookie season with 24 goals and 25 assists for 49 points over 71 games. It was the second year in a row a Boston player won the award with Bobby Orr getting the honours in 1966-67.

The Vezina Trophy went to the Montreal duo of Gump Worsley and Rogatien Vachon. Worsley played 40 games, posting a 1.98 goals against average along with six shutouts. Vachon appeared in 39 with a 2.48 GAA and four shutouts.

However, when their team easily won the Stanley Cup, neither goalie won the Conn Smythe Trophy. Instead, the playoff MVP award went to Glenn Hall, the goaltender for the finalist St. Louis Blues. To date, Hall is only the fifth player to win the award while playing for a team other than the Stanley Cup winner.

1967-68 marked the end of the careers of two great Montreal Canadiens. Bernie Geoffrion and Dickie Moore both played their last NHL games and retired at the end of the season. Neither were in a Montreal jersey. Geoffrion played his final hockey with the New York Rangers and Moore played his old team in the finals with the St. Louis Blues.

Hockey Cards

1967-68 was the final year of the Topps monopoly that had gone in since Parkhurst left the market after 1963-64. Topps put out a 132 card set. What was odd was that the cards only featured players from the Original Six teams. O-Pee-Chee would come along in 1968-69 and hockey cards would finally appear for those playing for the six new expansion teams.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *