1969-70 NHL Standings

1969-70 NHL Regular Season Standings

Team GP W L T Pts GF GA
Boston Bruins 76 40 17 19 99 277 216
Chicago Blackhawks 76 45 22 9 99 250 170
Detroit Red Wings 76 40 21 15 95 246 199
Montreal Canadiens 76 38 22 16 92 244 201
New York Rangers 76 38 22 16 92 246 189
Toronto Maple Leafs 76 29 34 13 71 222 242
St. Louis Blues 76 37 27 12 86 224 179
Pittsburgh Penguins 76 26 38 12 64 182 238
Minnesota North Stars 76 19 35 22 60 224 257
Philadelphia Flyers 76 17 35 24 58 197 225
Oakland Seals 76 22 40 14 58 169 243
Los Angeles Kings 76 14 52 10 38 168 290

1969-70 National Hockey League Season

gordie howe detroit red wings 1969-70 o-pee-chee hockey cardThe Boston Bruins won their first Stanley Cup championship in 1969-70 sine the 1940-41 National Hockey League season. That means the Bruins went through the entire Original 6 era without a championship. The Harry Sinden coached Boston club swept the St. Louis Blues in the finals. It was third consecutive visit to the finals for the Blues. They haven’t been back since.

Bobby Orr was honoured with the Conn Smythe Trophy as most valuable player in the playoffs. The defenseman scored nine and assisted on eleven for 20 points over 14 games. It was stiff competition for the award with teammate Phil Esposito exploding for 27 points in those 14 games.

The Chicago Blackhawks finished first overall during the regular season. Chicago totaled 99 points, equaling the Bruins. However, the Blackhawks won five more games and were awarded the first seed.

1969-70 would be the last season with teams playing 76 games each. The schedule would increase to 78 games in 1970-71 with the addition of the Buffalo Sabres and Vancouver Canucks growing the NHL to 14 teams. This would also be the first time that no Canadian teams qualified for the post season. It would happen just one more time, in 2015-16.

Along with the Conn Smythe Trophy, Bobby Orr took home a trailer full of hardware. Orr became the first and only defenseman to lead the league in scoring, earning his first of two career Art Ross Trophies. Bobby was also named the Norris Trophy winner as the top defenseman and the Hart Trophy recipient as MVP.

The Calder Trophy as rookie of the year went to Tony Esposito of the Chicago Blackhawks. Over 63 games, Esposito posted a 2.17 goals against average and 15 shutouts. That shutout total remains today as a modern day NHL record. Both Tony and his brother Phil were named to the First All-Star Team.

Esposito was also awarded the Vezina Trophy. However, it was Ernie Wakely of the St. Louis Blues that posted the best individual GAA with 2.11 over 30 games.

Hall of Famer Bobby Clarke made his NHL debut in 1969-70 with the Philadelphia Flyers. Four future members of the Hockey Hall of Fame played their final games: Leo Boivin, Terry Sawchuk, Johnny Bower and Marcel Pronovost.

Both the First and Second All-Star Teams were made up entirely players from five of the six Original 6 teams. The Toronto Maple Leafs and the six 1967 expansion clubs were left off.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *